class action lawyerr

Statute of Limitations by State, Lawyers Filing Lawsuits

Statute of Limitations By State

There is a limited amount of time one has to file a lawsuit before he/she is barred forever from recovering any money for personal injuries. This amount of time varies from state to state based upon whatever time each State Legislature sets and usually starts running from the date of the injury. Below are the time limits for all of the 50 states plus the District of Columbia.

This is offered as a community Service and should not take the place to confirm whether or not you have a case by contacting an injury lawyer.

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS BY STATE

State
Time to File
Alabama
2 years
Alaska
2 years
Arizona
2 years
Arkansas
2 years
California
2 years
Colorado
2 years
Connecticut
2 years
Delaware
2 years
District of Columbia
3 years
Florida
4 years
Georgia
2 years
Hawaii
2 years
Idaho
2 years
Illinois
2 years
Indiana
2 years
Iowa
2 years
Kansas
2 years
Kentucky
1 year
Louisiana
1 year
Maine
6 years
Maryland
3 years
Massachusetts
3 years
Michigan
3 years
Minnesota
2 years
Mississippi
3 years
Missouri
5 years
Montana
3 years
Nebraska
4 years
Nevada
2 years
New Hampshire
3 years
New Jersey
2 years
New Mexico
3 years
New York
3 years
North Carolina
3 years
North Dakota
6 years
Ohio
2 years
Oklahoma
2 years
Oregon
2 years
Pennsylvania
2 years
Rhode Island
3 years
South Carolina
3 years
South Dakota
3 years
Tennessee
1 year
Texas
2 years
Utah
4 years
Vermont
3 years
Virginia
2 years
Washington
3 years
West Virginia
2 years
Wisconsin
3 years
Wyoming
4 years